gphitman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fire in the Hills

A patrol car drove down my parents' street this morning, announcing over the PA system that everyone had to evacuate. My mother called me at 7:45 to fill me in. She sounded frantic. After I got off the phone with her, I called Jaime, then I called my boss- they were leaving too.

I called my mom twice more- did they wanna stay at my place? I could leave a key. Remember to take the computer tower (my dad works from home)- just unplug the tower and put it in the backseat. Did you remember photos? Jewelry?

My mind has been flooded with other things all day. What do you do in that situation? I was thinking about my grandpa's army uniform hanging in the spare closet. My late grandma's wedding dress (and my mom's for that matter) and all my grandma's old scrapbooks I took after she passed away. All of my father's sports memorobilia. He has an autographed Gretzky jersey, for pete's sake. He has thousands of baseball cards, autographed balls, plaques... My yearbooks and some of my own photos are still in my old bedroom. I have a few things stashed where no one would ever look, actually and I made the decision not to ask them to get anything of mine. That somehow seemed selfish.

It's more likely than not everything will be fine in Agoura. The fire isn't dangerously close to my parents, in truth. But to hear the panic in my mother's voice- I was instantly frightened and I can't seem to get my mind off of any of it today.

Hurricanes, floods, fires-- it's like the world is ending.

11:37 am - 09.29.05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

50 Random Questions

1. Your name spelled backwards?
A D N A M A

2. Where were your parents born?
Mom- Los Angeles, CA.
Dad- The Bronx, NY.

3. What is the last thing you downloaded onto your computer?
Kanye West's "Gold Digger"

4. What's your favorite restaurant?
In NY- Gotham Bar & Grill or Mercer Kitchen
In LA, I don't think I have one. But I really like Cheesecak Factory. LOL.

5. Last time you swam in a pool?
Forever ago. Maybe last Summer.

6. Have you ever been in a school play?
Quite a few.

7. How many kids do you want?
None.

8. Type of music you dislike most?
I don't know. I like a lot of different stuff.

9. Are you registered to vote?
Of course.

10. Do you have cable?
Yes.

11. Have you ever ridden on a moped?
Nope.

12. Ever prank call anybody?
I was notorious for it in 6th grade.

13. Best friends?
James, Leasa, Casey

14. Would you go bungee jumping or sky diving?
Nope.

16. Do you have a garden?
No, but that always sounded like it would be nice. On my list of things to do, I guess.

17. What's your favorite comic strip?
Boondocks, Get Fuzzy, Top to Bottom

18. Do you really know all the words to your national anthem?
Sure do. I am, like, WAY patriotic, man.

19. Bath or Shower, morning or night?
Lately, I've been showering twice daily.

20. Best movie you've seen in the past month?
I loved Just Like Heaven. I admit it.

21. Favorite pizza topping?
Goat Cheese amd sundried tomatoes (at Bossa Nova. SOOO good).

22. Chips or popcorn?
Chips, I think.

23. What color lipstick do you usually wear?
I just got this really pretty color from Stila called "Natalie." It's pretty sheer. I am now in love with Stila cosmetics.

24. Have you ever smoked peanut shells?
Has anyone?

25. Have you ever been in a beauty pageant?
No, but I was a child runway model which was just as bad. If not, worse.

26. Orange Juice or apple?
Orange. In my life, my tummy has never allowed me the pleasure of apple juice without getting a yucky tummy.

27. Who was the last person you went out to dinner with and where did u dine?
I was out to dinner at TGIF's on Saturday night with my entire family (dad's side).

28. Favorite type of chocolate bar?
100 Grand.

29. When was the last time you voted at the polls?
I don't know. I usually vote absentee cause I am registered in Agoura.

30. Last time you ate a homegrown tomato?
Never. I hate tomatoes.

31. Have you ever won a trophy?
A few.

32. Are you a good cook?
Not really. More a baker.

33. Do you know how to pump your own gas?
Um, yeah. All $50 worth of it.

34. Ever order an article from an infomercial?
I don't think I have.

35. Sprite or 7-up?
Sprite

36. Have you ever had to wear a uniform to work?
Nope

37. Last thing you bought at a Walgreens?
I haven't been in a Walgreens since I lived in Tucson. I can't remember.

38. Ever thrown up in public?
Yes. Oy.

39. Would you prefer being a millionaire or find true love?
True love.

40. Do you believe in love at first sight?
Lust at first sight!

41. Can ex's be friends?
Yes. Sometimes.

42. Who was the last person you visited in a hospital?
My grandmother.

43. Did you have a lot of hair as a baby?
I did.

44. What message is on your answering machine?
Mine.

46. What was the name of your first pet?
Misty. Actually, she was meant to be a show dog so it was technically "Rick's Misty Morning" or something.

47. What's in your backpack?
Nothing. My purse, however, is filled.

49. What is one thing you are grateful for today?
MySpace.

50. What do you think about most?
Mike. I'm a sap. I miss him.

3:30 pm - 09.26.05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

deli-cut
givemeabreak
greengrl
heidiann
jenne1017
marriedslut
miss-edith
porktornado
ryan8-5cut
searchn
sexquestion
smoog
prostituee
chadin
myhorizons
themadscribe
chubbychic