gphitman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rain, Rain, Rain

It's drizzling today. I kind of prefer a full on rain. There is something sort of romantic about the rain. It makes me yearn for the couch and my red chenille blanket, my favorite latte and a stack of DVD's.

There is something to be said for spending the day in your pajamas and reverting to your youth. My friend John says the rain always inspires him to shop- this is true. I bought a pair of shoes online an hour ago.

I love to fall asleep to the sound of the rain. It must the rhythm that soothes me. It's like sleeping to music. I can imagine myself somewhere else maybe? I don't do that very often- I don't have any kind of fantasy life, but like I said, there is something sort of romantic about the rain.

"Behind the clouds the sun is shining;
Thy fate is the common fate of all, Into each life some rain must fall,
Some days must be dark and dreary."
-Longfellow


Incidentally, heard I had some new readers? I was tempted to attach a disclaimer today or change my writing style but, well, that's not my style.

But welcome.

10:04 am - 06.23.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nasty

Yet one more piece of evidence why my boss needs to pay more attention when I am speaking and less attention to himself...

Boss: What's the number for UPS?
Me: 1.800.742.5877
Boss: Yeah... Ok....
Me: Got that?

CLICK.

And then... minutes later...

BUZZZZZ!!!
Me: Yes?
Boss: YOU GAVE ME THE NUMBER FOR 1-800-NASTY GIRLS???
Me: Excuse me???
Boss: The number you gave me was for Nasty Girls. You gave me the number for 1-800-Nasty-Girls.
Me: Not on purpose!
Boss: What is the number for UPS?
Me: 1.800.742.5877!

CLICK.

So that was pretty funny. Incidentally, the number he originally dialed was 542-5877. I know all you men were wondering.

This morning at the dentist, the hygenist spilled a cup of mouthwash all over my lap. And then as she tried to clean it up, she spilled a second one all over me. Amazing.

At lunch, I dropped a cup of ranch dressing on the floor. Caught a splash of it on my lap on the way down.

Lucky that Dr. Shore is paying for my dry-cleaning today, isn't it?

2:17 pm - 06.22.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Office Prayer

Just noticed that the office is out of dish-soap.

How long have we been out of it, I wonder... When was someone going to tell me I needed to order more?

Leads me to believe everyone's been using Myra's anti-bacterial soap to wash their coffee mugs.

Suddenly very grateful I don't use the office china.

Amen.

4:10 pm - 06.17.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sleepy Banter

If only you'd seen me this morning. I was plugging away at my desk. I was motivated and driven and the model worker.

Homeboy, I was the i-ching of office management.

WAKE UP! WAKE UP!

Lethargy, hell be thy name. I am so tired right now, it's ludicrous. And I have to wake up. I need to haul my ass downtown for some rockin' live music tonight or else I am never going to make it past Jason's second song.

Side note- totally off topic: dowloaded The Killer's new album. Love it. Two thumbs up.

Anyway...

Despite my pending eyes-wide-shut semi-comatose state and the Lakers patehtic attempt at a championship this past week, I've been in a stellar mood this week (Who knows why? Raise your hand!) and I have a jam-packed week ahead with all these plans and then the PROM (yes, you heard me).

Never under-estimate the sweeping power of nostalgia. SO exciting.

Also looking forward: THE YANKS ARE COMING TO TOWN! AND I HAVE TICKETS! THREE CHEERS!

3:44 pm - 06.16.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

deli-cut
givemeabreak
greengrl
heidiann
jenne1017
marriedslut
miss-edith
porktornado
ryan8-5cut
searchn
sexquestion
smoog
prostituee
chadin
myhorizons
themadscribe
chubbychic