gphitman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Planning Ahead

I was thinking I was being a morbid son-of-a-bitch but my friend Joe tells me I'm merely being pro-active. I respect his opinion.

I was thinking about places I wanna go and things I wanna do before I die.

I'd like to see Britain. Particularly Dublin and London. And I'd like to see Switzerland. I have no idea why but it seems like a place one should go. In Europe, I've only ever been to Florence and Rome (and some random Italian towns in between) and I regret that I didn't travel more. I'd wanted to see Sicily more than anything that Summer. And I wanna see Spain and Germany. I'm a history buff and some day, when I can handle it, I want to visit the remnants of the Nazi-era.

I've always wanted to go to Australia. I want to see Sydney and Melbourne. And Canada. That's the hockey-fan in me but I also feel like, hey, it's right up north and I have no excuse.

Elena, in my office, is from Moscow and I find myself rife with jealousy to hear her tell us about it.

I need to get back to San Francisco. I've been there a dozen times but not since I was 13 or so. And I love it there.

Cooperstown! If I don't get to The Baseball Hall of Fame some day, I'll be crushed... And I'd like to tour some ballparks. Yes, even Fenway. I'd like to set my eyes on the Big Green Monster some day. It's legend. I don't think anyone will fault me for that- Yankee devotee or not.

Yay for "pro-active."

3:48 pm - 06.17.05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gods of the Mic

I think seeing Kevin and Chris sing "Man, I Feel Like a Woman" at Karaoke last night was the highlight of my day. I mean, what could even compete with that. Oh sure, filing this month's bills was way up there, but nothing really compares to Chris' falsetto or Kevin's shimmy-shimmy-shake.

11:44 am - 06.16.05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Booked

My favorite book of all time is probably this deeply depressing book every 12 year old reads called Go Ask Alice. I would only classify it as such since I guarantee other than Mandy, by Julie Andrews (yes, that Julie Andrews and because it was called Mandy, dammit), I have read it more than anything else.

I also loved To Kill a Mockingbird. A lot of that had to do with the movie and Gregory Peck. He blew me away, even as a ten year old- the first time I saw that movie after reading the book in one sitting. I've read it a few more times since.

Other favorites? Brett Easton Ellis. I loved American Psycho. Nick Hornby and Chuck Palahniuk. High Fidelity? About a Boy? Fight Club? All better than the movies made for them. And I suppose yes, there is something to be said about my liking books that became movies. Hell, I am also a Harry Potter fiend and I've read the first three Lemony Snicket books. Oh, and Slapstick. Excellent.

And speaking of Vonnegut- I loved Hocus Pocus. But I never warmed up to Vonnegut otherwise. Go figure.

And sure, I'm a "chick lit" fan as well. I've read Bridget Jones, the Shop-a-holic series, Animal Husbandry, Cigarette Girl, Big Love, Fishbowl, The Girls Guide to Hunting and Fishing, Jennifer Weiner's books... these are just as fun as anything and I resent people who deem them useless reads.

In recent memory, I have started 2 books I didn't bother to finish. Everything is Illuminated and I, Lucifer. Both sounded like real "AJ topics" but left me feeling blase. I was particularly disappointed with Illuminated as everyone I know who has read it thinks it's amazing, and I was hoping to have it under my belt before the movie comes out.

In fact, this is the first time I think I have ever started a book an not finished before picking up something else. I hate that. And the countless books I have bought but never cracked open taunt me from my bookshelf.

I went ahead and started Invisible Monsters over the weekend. Just one Pahlaniuk quirk after another . Hmph. We'll see if I can get through that one.

You know, when I was 8 or 9... 10, etc. my mom couldn't keep me out of the bookstore. She'd buy me a book and I'd have it finished by the time we got home from running errands so back we went the next day. And the day after.

I cant remember the last book I picked up that I didnt wanna put down. Everything is so mediocre lately.

5:40 pm - 06.14.05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

deli-cut
givemeabreak
greengrl
heidiann
jenne1017
marriedslut
miss-edith
porktornado
ryan8-5cut
searchn
sexquestion
smoog
prostituee
chadin
myhorizons
themadscribe
chubbychic