gphitman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Go Yankees!

I had a really shitty day yesterday.

So I really think that's why Jorge Posada went and hit a homerun last night. He's my favorite player, so naturally, he would do this for me.

10:48 am - 04.29.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Giggles

Some creative ways to brighten your otherwise mundane day at the office...

1) Noting the rise in the conversation ender 'mmm buh-bye', I have started using, 'mmmmm-bop' instead. I predict this will sweep the nation.

2) I have now implemented using unusual voice inflections when answering the phone. The usual pattern has always been; 'Good MOrning, MY COmpany'. This will soon be replaced with 'GOOD morNING, my compANY!'. There is a definite crescendo on the company part. I like to make people feel uncomfortable. It makes my job worthwhile.

Keep practicing. You'll get used to it.

3) Since switching the orange-potted decaf coffee with the regular has not made a difference in anyone's attitude around here, I have now replaced the coffee with Hawaiian Punch. Seeing their seemingly unknown red-stained-lips gives me joy like none other.

4) Realizing that I am behind this gigantor receptionist desk 85% of my day, and the only thing visible is basicaly my face and shoulders, I've decided to forego the whole 'wearing pants' thing.

Kidding.

Maybe.

3:35 pm - 04.27.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Three Things

Ok, first of all, I saw a commercial for Phil Collins' "First Final Farewell Tour." I can't evem begin to tell you how much that bothers me.

But I am sure as hell going to try.

FIRST. FINAL. FAREWELL. Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? Look, Phil, my sad, soon-to-be-has-been British friend, I suppose something can be both your first and your final and that this very "thing" could be a farewell, but doesn't this title strike you as just a tad bit oxymoronical?

It's annoying the shit out of me. Also, it leads me to believe there could very well be a "Second Final Farewell tour" in which case the first tour was not at all final, then, was it?

So there.

Now second, I feel obliged to point out I have not worn socks since Saturday afternoon. No reason in particular, I just haven't felt like it and the weather outside has put me in a flip-flop, rocket-dog, clunky-sandals type of mood. Or I go barefoot around my apartment.

It's rather sensational. Do you think there is a world record for this sort of thing? Oh, don't get me wrong-- I dare not think I could attempt such a feat (get it?) but I'm amused to think about it.

And the third thing, last night as I sat barefoot on my couch (of course), in comes Steve with a big ol' box singing me happy birthday. And he drops this box at my feet. Its contents?

Seasons 1-3 of The West Wing. And quite obviously, not the crappy West Wing on TV now. 1-3!!!

This is why Steve rocks, ladies and gentleman. Big round of applause for Steve who has now given me enough crack to support my sick habit for many, many months.

It's not bad enough I have Tivo and a zillion channels of cable... :)

2:28 pm - 04.27.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

deli-cut
givemeabreak
greengrl
heidiann
jenne1017
marriedslut
miss-edith
porktornado
ryan8-5cut
searchn
sexquestion
smoog
prostituee
chadin
myhorizons
themadscribe
chubbychic